Oh-My-Goodness Oatmeal Squares

Oh. My. Goodness. That’s what you’ll be saying as you shovel these guys into your mouth.

These Oatmeal Squares are one of our all-time favorite desserts. I try not to make them too often because I literally cannot stop eating them until I’m sadly scraping the bottom of the pan, wishing I’d made a double batch.

We had these for dessert last night after I made a complete disaster while cleaning up dinner. I’m admittedly a complete mess, particularly in the kitchen. Luckily, I’ve been fortunate enough to find my better, much cleaner half.  As I blow around the kitchen tornado-style, Lucas follows closely behind, catching the things I drop and wiping up splatters.  He had his hands full last night. We made tofu pasta with spaghetti sauce (super delicious btw). I must have been telling a very animated story as I carried the spaghetti sauce over to the sink because before I knew it the remaining spaghetti sauce covered every inch of our white kitchen. I laughed hysterically… Lucas about broke out in hives at the site of it and (jokingly) accused me of “dousing” him in spaghetti sauce. Whoops!

Anyways, back to the Oh-My-Goodness Oatmeal Squares… Even the non-healthy dessert eaters love these guys. They’re really that good.

Oh-My-Goodness Oatmeal Squares

  • 2 ripe bananas (mashed)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 3/4 cup dried fruit (I used dried blueberries and cranberries)
  • 3/4 cup dark chocolate and/or peanut butter chips
  • 1 1/2 cup steel cut oats
  • dash salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix your dry ingredients, and then add your wet. Press mixture into 8×8 greased pan. Bake for 15 minutes or until edges are golden brown. These are best stored in the refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

